Around the State: HPU social work award

Chassidy Carroll, a 2008 Howard Payne University graduate, received the HPU Social Work Advisory Board’s Spirit of Social Work Award. spirit of social work300Dan Humeniuk, director of HPU’s social work program, presents Chassidy Carroll with the 2013 Spirit of Social Work award.Carroll is the founder of Hope Home, a nonprofit faith-based transitional home for young women released from juvenile correctional facilities.

John Clem, Dallas Baptist University director of development, and Jim Palmer, founder of the Silver Serenaders of Texas, received the Good Samaritan Award at the 25th annual DBU-Oak Cliff Partnership Dinner. All proceeds from the dinner provide scholarships for students from Oak Cliff who attend DBU.

Thirty-six Dallas Baptist University students were named to the 2013 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. They are Minhee Bea, Zachary Bean, Jeremy Bledsoe, Kurt Bost, Tyler Bradsher, Courtney Burris, Hannah Cheves, Sarah Dickerson, Chelsea Dimmitt, Sarah Dulin, Chase Durham, Claire Garvey, Heather Garza, Emily Greenspan, Ethan Herrema, Travis Hicks, Elizabeth Jemaneh, Kathryn Jester, Kelly Jordan, John Kleven, Chris La, Kirk Mansfield, Bemnet Meshesha, Alexandra Mohle, Andrew Moore, Edith Morris, Trang (Hannah) Nguyen, Eric Niederhauser, Seth O’Neal, Bailey Pentecost, Jonathan Rhodes, Nicholas Stoenescu, Lindsey Tollett, Rebecca Tompkins, Tyler Walker and Kelly Wright.

Students at Hardin-Simmons University honored Bobbie Chew, a university cafeteria employee, by funding a scholarship in her name. Sixty-seven students, alumni and friends were founding contributors to the scholarship fund. Students noted Chew’s smile and friendliness as their motivation for honoring her.

East Texas Baptist University’s year-end staff and faculty celebration honored several employees for their service. Roy Darville, professor of biology, and David White, professor of religion, each have served the university 30 years. Other honorees include: 20 years—Bill Collins, Barry Hale, Richard Hutsell, Juanita Lopez and Annemarie Whatley; 15 years—Paula Cottrell, Janice Fisher, Alan Huesing, Donna Lubcker, Jerrie McPhail, Linda Prewitt, Stephen Ratcliff and Barbara Taylor; and 10 years—Buck Buchanan, Gaye Christy, Blanca Jenkins, Rick Johnson, Mike Midkiff, Paul Moody, John Sargent and Tommy Young.


Clyde Glazener, as pastor of Gambrell Street Baptist Church in Fort Worth, June 2. A covered-dish lunch will be held in his honor following the morning service. A program is planned for 1 p.m. in the sanctuary. He has served the church 21 years. He also was pastor of First Baptist Church in Bedford, as well as churches in Arizona, Arkansas and Oklahoma. He served two terms as chair of the Baptist General Convention of Texas Executive Board and twice was elected BGCT president. He also has been an adjunct professor in Greek and New Testament at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and the B.H. Carroll Theological Institute.


Care to comment? Send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

Connect with the Baptist Standard

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Google+

About These Ads

More News

Design & Development by Toolbox Studios