Around the State

Around the State: ETBU Servant Leadership Awards

Christopher Hudgens and Lucy Elston received East Texas Baptist University’s Bob and Gayle Riley Servant Leadership Awards. The award annually honors two students who exhibit exceptional servant leadership. Students are nominated by their peers, faculty and staff and invited to apply for the award. The Rileys presented each winner with a miniature replica of Max Greiner’s sculpture of Jesus washing the feet of Simon Peter and a scholarship award.

Abilene Baptist Association elected leaders and presented awards during its annual meeting, held at North Park Baptist Church in Abilene. Ben Richardson, pastor of Tye Baptist Church in Tye, is moderator. Other officers include Donny Harbers, pastor of Wylie Baptist Church in Abilene, first vice moderator; Kenneth Jordan, pastor of Lawn Baptist Church in Lawn, second vice moderator; Carolyn Williams, a member of North Park Baptist Church in Abilene, clerk; Bobby Weeks, a member of Southwest Park Baptist Church in Abilene, treasurer and stewardship team leader; Dave Douglas, retired pastor, evangelism/missions leader; Mike Woodard, pastor of Southwest Park Baptist Church, strengthening existing churches leader; and Charles Richardson, a member of First Baptist Church in Abilene, communications director. Pioneer Drive Baptist Church was named church of the year, and Larry Tarver, pastor of Clearfork Baptist Church in Hawley, was named pastor of the year. Karin Richardson, who retired after 30 years as librarian at First Baptist Church in Abilene, was named staff member of the year. Glen Estes, a member of Clearfork Baptist Church, was named layperson of the year. Janice Hargrove, a member of Faith Baptist Church in Abilene, was the first recipient of the Jim Griggs Social Ministries Layperson of the Year Award. She has served as a volunteer 11 years.

Doug Lawson, chief operating officer for Baylor University Medical Center, was the keynote speaker at the Dallas Baptist University College of Business’ fall business luncheon and seminar. He told students about the state of the American health care system and provided insight into how organizations can adapt to changes within their industry. In addition to being willing to change, businesses must maintain a focus on their mission, he insisted.


Moises Gonzales, 20th, as pastor of Berclair Mission in Berclair, Nov. 1.


Brett Cook to the ministry at First Baptist Church in Paducah, Oct. 27. He serves the church as youth pastor.

Betty Burtis, Chris Carrier, Tom Conley, Mark DeLeon, Charlotte Evans, Lee Festervan, Nova Festervan, Jim Hadley, Casi Helbig, Charles Johnson, Mike Rhoades, Bonnie Salles, Nancy Smith, Sue Thompson and Darryl White as deacons at First Baptist Church in San Marcos, Oct. 13.

Care to comment? Send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

Connect with the Baptist Standard

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Google+

About These Ads

More News

Design & Development by Toolbox Studios