Around the State

Around the State: HSU encourages elementary students

Fifth-grade students from Bonham Elementary School in Abilene spent a day at Hardin-Simmons University. School officials hoped to instill in them a dream for a college education. The elementary students toured the HSU library, experienced classroom technology and participated in a lunchtime performance with the HSU Spurs Dance Team. Students led groups of elementary students as they ate in university student center, toured the various academic colleges and visited residence halls. They also spent time with members of the Hardin-Simmons Six White Horses equestrian team, and they visited the football stadium, band hall and president’s home.

Dallas Baptist University presented the dbu moore scholars250Jacob Rohrer and Nicole Faulkenberry received Dallas Baptist University’s Frank and Martin Moore Servant Leadership Award.Frank and Martin Moore Servant Leadership Award to Nicole Faulkenberry and Jacob Rohrer. The award is presented to students who demonstrate leadership in the areas of community and ministry service from within DBU. Each received $750 to use toward their education and $250 to donate to a charity of their choosing.

Guidestone Financial Resources is asking churches to participate in Mission: Dignity by receiving an offering to help retired ministers in need of financial assistance June 22. The Mission: Dignity program helps about 2,000 retired Southern Baptist ministers, workers or their widows by providing monthly income to qualified recipients and pays out more than $6.5 million in assistance. To order promotional materials, click here

B.H. Carroll Theological Institute will add a doctor of ministry degree program concentration in leadership in August. An open enrollment period for the leadership and all other D.Min. majors ends June 30. To apply, click here

Barry Evans will become dean of the Wayland Baptist University’s School of Business July 1. Evans joined the Wayland faculty in 2011. Otto Schacht, who has been dean of the school since 2002, will return to the classroom. He is planning retirement in 2016. Kelly Warren also was named associate dean of doctoral programs in the business school. Wayland intends to begin offering doctoral degrees in business administration and management in 2015, pending approval from sanctioning bodies.

Mamie McCullough received yellowrose award300Mamie McCullough, right, received the Howard Payne University Woman’s Club Yellow Rose Award. She is joined by Diana Ellis, HPU first lady and Woman’s Club president.the Howard Payne University Woman’s Club Yellow Rose Award. Although she was the guest speaker for the scholarship luncheon, she was unaware she would receive the award. She had a career in education, was a director for Mary Kay Cosmetics, and was president of the education division of the Zig Ziglar Corporation 10 years. She also is the author of several books, including I’m Not Waving … I’m Drowning. She has served on HPU’s President’s Development Council and board of trustees. In 1997, the university presented her with an honorary doctor of letters.

Rebekah Grigsby has been named dean of the East Texas Baptist University department of nursing.


Toby Irwin, 45th, in ministry, May 26. He is pastor of Belmore Baptist Church in San Angelo.

Robert Lynch, fifth, as pastor of First Baptist Church in Gregory, May 31.

Care to comment? Send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

Connect with the Baptist Standard

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Google+

About These Ads

More News

Design & Development by Toolbox Studios