Around the State: Baylor endows chair in congregational and community health

Shane & Shane, alongside Phil Wickham, performed at Dallas Baptist University as a part of the music group’s 2017 Christmas tour. (DBU Photo / Efrain Carbajal)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
Gaynor Yancey is professor in the Diana R. Garland School of Social Work at Baylor University and director of the Center for Family and Community Ministries. (Photo / Baylor Marketing & Communications)

Baylor University received a gift from David and Shirley Lake of Tyler to create the Lake Family Endowed Chair in Congregational and Community Health at the university. The gift will create a unique joint venture between the Diana R. Garland School of Social Work and Truett Theological Seminary. Gaynor Yancey, professor and director of the Center for Church and Community Impact in the Garland School of Social Work is the inaugural holder of the chair. Yancey will teach and mentor students in Truett Seminary and the Garland School of Social Work and help to create a seminary specialization in congregational and community health. She also will facilitate the creation of a dual-degree program and conduct applied research that will provide resources for church leadership.

Shane Barnard and Shane Everett, known professionally as the Christian musicians Shane & Shane, performed with Phil Wickham at Dallas Baptist University as part of their 2017 Christmas Tour. The Dallas-based duo, worship arts in residence at DBU, provided training to students in a worship leadership and preparation course this fall.

Members of the Howard Payne University moot court team, who ended their fall 2017 season undefeated, are (left to right) Justin Harris, Isaac Sommers, Jordan Hahn and Bailey Myler.

With wins at two final tournaments, Howard Payne University’s moot court team ended its fall 2017 season undefeated. The team’s victory at the final fall tournament secured HPU’s spot as a top-seeded team in the American Moot Court Association’s national competition in January at the University of North Texas at Dallas College of Law.

Samantha Busby, a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies graduate of East Texas Baptist University, receives the President’s Award, presented to a student who is considered an exceptional example as a Christian leader, scholar and servant.

At East Texas Baptist University’s Dec. 9 fall commencement, 82 students received undergraduate degrees and 23 received graduate degrees—the largest fall commencement in the university’s history. Samantha Busby, a Bachelor of Arts graduate in international studies, received the President’s Award, given to the graduating student who is considered the best representation of a Christian leader, scholar and servant. Busby served with the Baptist Student Ministry, was involved at Friendship Baptist Church in Marshall, made the Dean’s List with Honors every semester, and was an active member of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society.

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor awarded degrees to 398 students at its fall commencement, Dec. 8. They included 264 who received baccalaureate degrees, 97 who received master’s degrees and 37 who earned doctorates, including the first 34 graduates of the university’s Doctor of Physical Therapy program. Abigail McPhail of Copperas Cove received the Loyalty Cup, awarded to the student considered most representative of the ideals, traditions and spirit of the university. McPhail shared with eight other students the UMHB Provost Medal for highest overall grade point average—Angele Couvillon of Lafayette, La.; Madilyn Curtis of Houston; Erin Dona of Bonham; Moriah Olson of Cedar Park; Vivienne Salisbury of Kingwood; Cameron Stephens of Midlothian; Lindsey Wash Vasquez of Austin; and Bethany Whatley of Temple. Wesley Bailey of Belton received the President’s Award for meritorious service. Bailey served as a class chaplain and Student Foundation president, and he was involved actively in student life.

Dallas Baptist University presented Eric K. Jackson, FBI special agent in charge of the Dallas field office, the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award. Jackson, a native of Memphis, Tenn., earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology and business administration from DBU. The university named Charles Ku, a DBU trustee and member of First Baptist Church in Lewisville, as the 2017 Honorary Alumnus. Ku, president of the Greater Dallas Taiwanese Chamber of Commerce, was appointed by Gov. George W. Bush to the Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council and by President George H. W. Bush to the Federal Commission on Apprenticeship. He has served, by request of President Lee Teng-Hui of the Republic of China in Taiwan, as an overseas Chinese commissioner.

As a part of its Tiger Transfer Track Program, East Texas Baptist University has signed articulation agreements with nine educational institutions and ministry organizations—the University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler, Kilgore College, Jacksonville College, Trinity Valley Community College, Youth with A Mission, Panola College, Navarro College, Tyler Junior College and Angelina College. The agreements will enable eligible students and graduates of the community colleges to transfer approved courses, receive priority for admission and be granted priority consideration for scholarships at ETBU.

A student team from Howard Payne University won the distinguished delegation award at the Northwest Model United Nations Conference in Seattle, Wash. Lainee Hasty, a psychology major from Runaway Bay, was named outstanding delegate. Model United Nations takes current world issues and asks students, who represent various countries as delegates, to try to solve them through diplomatic means.


Eddy Hallock as minister of missions/evangelism at Tallowood Baptist Church after 13 years there and 48 years in full-time ministry, effective Jan. 15.

We seek to inform, inspire and challenge you to live like Jesus. Click to learn more about Following Jesus.

If we achieved our goal—or didn’t—we’d love to hear from you. Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email