Around the State: Gates addresses UMHB; Amarillo Baptist honored for volunteer service

Former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates delivered the 2018 McLane Lecture at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. (UMHB Photo)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Former U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates delivered the 2018 McLane Lecture at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. Gates identified seven qualities essential to a good leader—vision, integrity, deep conviction, self-confidence, courage, common decency and a sense of humor. “For a real leader, personal virtues like self-reliance, self-control, honor, truthfulness and morality are absolute, not subject to compromise or dilution depending on the current mood of society or prevalent forces of popular culture,” Gates said. “These are the building blocks of character and integrity, and only on that foundation can true leadership be built.” Gates, a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, spent nearly 27 years with the Central Intelligence Agency, serving as its director from 1991 to 1993. He is a former president of Texas A&M University and now is chancellor of William and Mary College. The McLane Lecture— made possible by the gifts of Temple residents Elizabeth and Drayton McLane Jr.—brings internationally recognized speakers to UMHB each year to share their experiences and insights about leadership, government, business and faith.

Tom Foran (right) of First Baptist Church in Amarillo received the Correctional Institutions Division Volunteer Award from Dale Wainwright, chairman of the Texas Board of Criminal Justice.

Tom Foran, business administrator and men’s ministry director at First Baptist Church in Amarillo, received the Correctional Institutions Division Volunteer Award at the Governor’s 2018 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award program. In 2009, Foran began volunteering at the Clements Unit, where he ministers every week to offenders in high security and the infirmary, as well as in the program for aggressive mentally ill offenders. He also has recruited volunteer teams to facilitate classes and programs for the offenders.

Christopher McNair

Hardin-Simmons University named Christopher McNair as provost. As the university’s chief academic officer, McNair will direct and collaborate with deans from each of HSU’s nine schools and colleges. After graduating from HSU in 1984 with an undergraduate degree in biology, McNair earned his master’s degree in neurophysiology at the University of Texas at San Antonio and his doctorate in neurophysiology from the University of Kentucky. A faculty member at HSU since 1992, McNair was named department chair of the biology department in 1995. In 1999, he was named the first dean of the Holland School of Sciences and Mathematics. McNair has served as HSU’s interim provost since Tommy Brisco from the post retired last December. McNair and his wife Sandy have been married nearly 30 years, and they have twin sons, Jordan and Zachary, who will begin their freshman year at HSU in the fall.

Raymond Harris, chair of the Tom Landry Leadership Award dinner at Dallas Baptist University, recognizes honorees David and In Sun Moon. (DBU Photo)

Dallas Baptist University honored David Moon, founder of the Sam Moon Group and longtime supporter of international students at DBU, at the annual Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner. The International Center at DBU is named in honor of Moon and his wife, In Sun Moon. Alicia Landry, widow of former Dallas Cowboys Coach Tom Landry, was honorary chair of the event, and Raymond Harris, architect/author/ executive movie producer, served as dinner chair.

East Texas Baptist University recognized Steve and Penny Carlile as the 2018 Sam B. Hall Civic Service Award honorees for their lifelong support of the city of Marshall. The Carliles received the award April 17 during the 23rd annual Sam B. Hall Jr. Lecture Series. Kent Hance, former member of the U.S. House of Representatives and former chancellor of Texas Tech University, spoke.

Howard Payne University’s Model United Nations team brought home six awards from the 2018 Münster University International Model United Nations conference. Award-winners were (left to right) Penny Stehlik, Caleb Kostreva, Jessica Swonger, Lainee Hasty, Morgan Andie McCoy and Emma Reed. (HPU Photo)

Howard Payne University’s Model United Nations team won six awards at the 2018 Münster University International Model United Nations conference, more than any other team in attendance. Three HPU students received Outstanding Delegate awards—Lainee Hasty, senior from Runaway Bay; Caleb Kostreva, junior from Clifton, Colo.; and Morgan Andie McCoy, junior from Whitehouse. Another three HPU students received Best Position Paper awards—Emma Reed, junior from Kennedale; Penny Stehlik, sophomore from Round Rock; and Jessica Swonger, junior from Midway, Ark. Model United Nations takes current world issues and asks students, who represent various countries as delegates, to solve problems through diplomatic means by caucusing, writing position papers and making presentations in formal settings. More than 200 student delegates participated at the conference in Germany.


50th for Lake Shore Baptist Church in Lake Dallas. Homer Walkup is pastor.

30th for Rick Erwin as pastor at Procter Baptist Church in Port Arthur.



More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Care to comment? Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.