Around the State: Spiritual Renewal Week held at ETBU; First Baptist Plano to relocate

East Texas Baptist University sophomore Ashley Alexander and freshman Sydney Ahlsted gather to pray for one another during the Women’s Night of Worship. The event was primarily spent praying in groups, singing praises, and reading Scripture verses.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
Mike Satterfield

Mike Satterfield, teaching pastor at Fielder Church in Arlington and founder of Field of Grace Ministries, spoke in chapel and at a men’s event during Spiritual Renewal Week at East Texas Baptist University. Director of Admissions Meredith Palmer, senior Lauren McCollum, junior Meagan Neubauer and junior Rileigh Welch led the ETBU Women’s Night of Worship. Scott Stevens, dean of spiritual development, organized a concert of prayer focused on adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication. Spiritual Renewal Week concluded with a sermon by Sam Dennis, retired founding pastor of Parkway Hills Baptist Church in Plano, now visiting professor of religion at ETBU.

First Baptist Church in Plano announced plans to relocate from its downtown location to a site near the President George Bush Turnpike east of Coit Road. The church decided to move after a needs-based facilities study revealed a negligible cost difference between renovating and relocating. The facilities evaluation included areas for children and students, central meeting areas, access from parking to facilities, and maintenance and renovation costs. Craig Curry is pastor.

Young Maston Scholars are recognized at Logsdon Seminary.

During the T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics at Hardin-Simmons University’s Logsdon Seminary, the Young Maston Scholar Awards were presented to Mardochee Estinvil and Dominick Lopez from the Baptist University of the Américas, Jacob Ables and Jordan Whicker from Dallas Baptist University, James Ash and Conner Guthrie from East Texas Baptist University, Madison Boboltz and Carlo Serna from Hardin-Simmons University, Cadence Tripp and Beth Zimmerman from Houston Baptist University, Cecily McIlwain and Jordan Pitman from Howard Payne University, Ashley Gregorie and Marek Reyes from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, and Eric Dexter II and Anita Salazar from Wayland Baptist University.

The Southwest Commission on Religious Studies presented its 2018 John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award for Lifetime Achievement to Mikeal Parsons, professor at Baylor University. Parsons is the Kidd L. and Buna Hitchcock Macon Chair in Religion at Baylor, where he has taught since 1986.

Buckner Retirement Services named David Sims executive director of Buckner Westminster Place in Longview. Most recently, he was health care center administrator at Christian Care in Mesquite. He previously served as administrator of the Elsie Gayer Healthcare Center at Buckner Retirement Community in San Angelo. He is a graduate of the University of Texas at Arlington.

As part of Black History Month, Howard Payne University’s School of Humanities sponsored a viewing of the 2011 film “The Help.” Following the screening, Draco Miller, Brownwood city councilman and mayor pro-tem, led a discussion on race relations.

Wayland Baptist University honored several key donors at its Pioneers of Excellence awards dinner held recently at the Museum of Biblical Arts in Dallas. Joe and Freda Provence of Plainview and Joe and Terri Jesko of Arlington received the President’s Award, the highest honor bestowed to benefactors who have given not only financially, but have also supported the university’s endeavors through service and advocacy. Wayland also recognized the Roberta Wright Reeves Trust, Glenda and Brad Payas, and Jack and Kelly Sue Witten as recipients of the Keeper of the Flame Award, given in recognition of individuals and groups who have given at least $100,000 to the university.

The 2nd annual Houston Baptist University Author Celebration will be held noon to 1:30 p.m., April 25, in the McNair Hall of the Morris Cultural Arts Center. Books on religion, business, education and other subjects by more than two dozen faculty and staff authors will be featured.


Ron Linebarger as pastor of Eola Baptist Church in Eola.

Sign up for our weekly email newsletter.

We seek to inform, inspire and challenge you to live like Jesus. Click to learn more about Following Jesus.

If we achieved our goal—or didn’t—we’d love to hear from you. Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email