Around the State: Angels from Abroad

David George, pastor of First Baptist Church in Weatherford, speaks at the dedication ceremony of a Texas Historical Marker for the congregation, May 4. (See item below)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Seven Colombian orphans need host families for their three-week visit to Dallas this December as a part of the Angels from Abroad program. The program enables older children to learn about American culture, share their Colombian culture and experience living in a family. The children are ages 8 to 15 and include a sibling group of two and another sibling group of three. Families interested in hosting the children can attend free meetings May 21 and May 30 at the Buckner Children and Family Services campus in Dallas. The Tuesday meeting will begin at 6 p.m. and the Thursday meeting will begin at noon. Email to attend.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary will hold an alumni and friends luncheon in conjunction with the Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in Houston in the George R. Brown Convention Center, Grand Ballroom C, at noon June 12. Frank Page and Steve Gaines will receive distinguished alumni awards. Tickets are $20 per person and can be purchased here .

Joseph Parker Jr., joseph parker130Joseph Parker Jr.pastor of David Chapel Missionary Baptist Church in Austin the last 21 years, received the Heman Marion Sweatt Legacy Award at a University of Texas symposium on civil rights. Parker is a 1982 graduate of the UT Law School, and he also was the chief litigator for the State Bar of Texas. The Sweatt Legacy Award honors a UT alumnus, faculty, staff, student or friend who embodies Sweatt’s life and legacy. Sweatt was the plaintiff in the U.S. Supreme Court case that opened the law school to African-Americans and erased the law school’s policy against admitting black students.

Harlan Scott, associate professor of biology, was named outstanding faculty member, and Jodi Goode, director of information technology, received the outstanding staff member award at Howard Payne University’s annual personnel recognition luncheon. Art Allen, professor of Christian studies, was honored for 25 years of service. Others who received service awards include: 20 years—Donnie Auvenshine, professor of Christian studies; and Eydie Henderson, administrative assistant for the school of Christian studies. 15 years—Kim Bryant, associate professor of communication; Kathy Hagood, associate professor of English; Scott Owen, assistant professor of exercise and sport science; Diann Prickett, gift processing clerk; and Julie Welker, professor of communication. 10 years—Martha Fothergill, coordinator of records and reports; Carla Hawkins, assistant professor of modern languages; Kim Schuster, executive assistant to the senior vice president for finance and administration; Bobbie Jo Stewart; circulation services and music library supervisor; and Daresa Voss, professor of education.

Hardin-Simmons University honored faculty members for their achievements. Patrick Miller, professor of mathematics, founded the International Asteroid Search Collaboration and was honored for “outstanding service to the profession.” The collaboration is an Internet-based space-watching program for high school and college classes around the world. It trains science teachers and students to use computer software to watch for objects in space that could be dangerous to Earth. Renee Collins, associate professor of education, earned the Provost Award for Teaching. Charlene Strickland, associate professor of communication, and Bob Fink, professor of English, received the Provost Award for Outstanding Service to the University.

Dallas Baptist University awarded Rose-Mary Rumbley, former DBU professor, humorist and author, with an honorary doctor of humanities degree during the university’s spring convocation. A member of the school’s initial faculty in 1965, she taught communication arts the next 12 years. She is a member of First Baptist Church in Dallas.

David White, professor of religion at East Texas Baptist University, received a crystal bowl engraved with the seal of the university at a reception commemorating his retirement after 30 years of service there.


Allen Moers, 15th, as minister of music at First Baptist Church in Rockport.


Joe Brooks, James Busby, Cheston Francis, Lake Hite, Greg Proffitt and Kenneth Word as deacons at First Baptist Church in Goldthwaite.


The Texas Historical Commission recognized First Baptist Church in Weatherford with a historical marker. The marker notes the church was organized in 1856 and originally was called United Missionary Baptist Church of Christ. It also notes the congregation has been responsible for starting many other churches in the area through the years. David George is pastor.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Care to comment? Send an email to our interim opinion editor, Blake Atwood. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.