Around the State: Decatur alumni gather at DBU; Teaff and Torres to receive Legacy Awards

More than 30 alumni of Decatur Baptist College rang the Decatur Liberty Bell during their annual spring reunion on the campus of Dallas Baptist University. (DBU Photo)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
Dallas Baptist University President Adam Wright presented the Decatur Distinguished Service Award to Mila Wilson Smith. (DBU Photo)

Dallas Baptist University recently hosted the annual spring reunion of Decatur Baptist College. Founded in 1898, Decatur Baptist College relocated to Dallas in 1965, where it became Dallas Baptist College until achieving university status in 1985. At a luncheon during the reunion, DBU presented the Decatur Distinguished Service Award to Mila Wilson Smith and the Decatur Honorary Alumnus Award to Martin Woodruff, mayor of Decatur.

Isaac Torres
Grant Teaff

Former Baylor Bears Head Football Coach Grant Teaff and retired missionary/evangelist Isaac Torres will receive Texas Baptists’ Legacy Awards for lifelong Christian service. Texas Baptists will present the awards June 2 at the historical Independence Baptist Church, near Brenham. Teaff was head football coach at Baylor 21 years, leading the Bears to Southwest Conference championships in 1974 and 1980. Teaff was executive director of the American Football Coaches Association 22 years, and he was named executive director emeritus in 2016. Teaff, a nationally known Christian motivational speaker, is the author of six books. He is a deacon and Sunday school teacher at First Baptist Church in Waco. Torres—hailed as “Mr. Evangelism” by friends and colleagues—served seven years as a missionary in Mexico City, and he was a church planter and pastor in Australia. He was instrumental in helping to establish Texas Baptists’ missions partnerships with Baptists in Mexico, Australia and Venezuela. During his extensive international travel, he led revivals, conferences and Experiencing God weekends. At age 92, he continues to serve as an assistant pastor of a church in Benavidez. He and his wife of 71 years, Norma, live in Kingsville. The Texas Baptist Legacy Awards will be presented during a 10 a.m. worship service at Independence Baptist Church. Lunch will follow. To make meal reservations, contact Becky Brown at or call 214-828-5301.

The Singing Men of North Central Texas completed a mission trip to Hungary and Romania. Combined attendance for 10 concerts was 8,800. Following an evangelistic message at each location by Michael Gott, 3,903 individuals registered commitments to Christ. Trent Blackley, minister of music at First Baptist Church in Rockwall, conducted the Singing Men in the absence of his father, Don Blackley, worship leader for the classic worship service at Lake Pointe Church in Rockwall, who was hospitalized.

Michele King Doud

Howard Payne University’s Social Work Advisory Board recently presented its Spirit of Social Work Award to Michele King Doud. The award is presented annually to an individual whose career reflects an outstanding contribution to the social work profession or to the field of human services in general. Doud graduated from HPU in 1982 with a Bachelor of Science degree in social work. After graduation, she began work at Brownwood Regional Medical Center, where she served 20 years. She also spent six years in home health, one year at a Brownwood-area nursing home and 11 years at Solaris Hospice. She now serves as a social worker in Kaufman.

East Texas Baptist University President Blair Blackburn presents the President’s Award to Reid Adams. (ETBU Photo

At spring commencement, East Texas Baptist University presented the President’s Award to Reid Adams, who graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in athletic training. ETBU presents the President’s Award to the student who is considered the best representation of a Christian leader, scholar and servant. Adams received the American Southwest Conference East Division Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year as a freshman on the ETBU tennis team, led a Bible study for the tennis team, served as student body president, was involved in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and was a resident assistant for two years and a mentor in a freshman dorm. He is a member of New Beginnings Baptist Church and volunteers at Hallsville Elementary School. ETBU conferred an honorary doctorate on Ben G. Raimer, a 1969 alum who has held numerous positions at the University of Texas Medical Branch over the past three decades and who serves as president of the Texas Pediatric Association. Sandy Hoover, chair of the ETBU department of history and political science, received the Professor of Distinction Award. Hoover is pastor of Athey Baptist Church in Harleton and president of the ETBU Faculty Senate. The university also presented honorary Bachelor of Science degrees to the families of Darrian Anthony McClintock Jr. and Norvontre LaShawn Harrison, both members of the ETBU Tigers football team who drowned April 28, 2016.

The T.B. Maston Foundation will honor Emmanuel McCall, a noted pastor/educator/civil rights leader and former vice president of Baptist World Alliance, at an Oct. 4 award dinner at Dallas Baptist University. Featured speaker is Daniel Carro, professor at the John Leland Center for Theological Studies. Individual tickets are $60, and sponsorships are available at varied levels to support scholarships, retreats and lectures in Christian ethics sponsored by the T.B. Maston Foundation. To register, call (214) 228-3518 or email


We seek to inform, inspire and challenge you to live like Jesus. Click to learn more about Following Jesus.

If we achieved our goal—or didn’t—we’d love to hear from you. Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email