Around the State: Maston Scholars named

Twelve students from Baptist General Convention of Texas-affiliated universities have been named Young Maston Scholars.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Twelve students from Baptist General Convention of Texas-affiliated universities have been named Young Maston Scholars. Students are nominated based on their faithfulness to the ethical example of Jesus; a commitment to Christian ethics lived out in theological inquiry and academic excellence; an established reputation among peers for ethical Christian leadership; and a vocational calling to ministry. The award is named for T.B. Maston, longtime of professor of Christian ethics and author, known for his writing and teaching in the area of biblical ethics, race relations, family life, Christian life and vocation, church and state, and character formation. This year’s scholars are (shown above, left to right): Bottom row: Joshua Puckett (Howard Payne University), David Bertrand (University of Mary-Hardin Baylor), Yvonne Harold (UMHB) and Jorge Arias (East Texas Baptist University); middle row: Deborah Isosaki (Baptist University of the Américas) and Jordan Upchurch (ETBU); and top row: Matthew Molina (Wayland Baptist University), Kendra Holt (Hardin-Simmons University), Venantie Uwishyaka (HSU), Adrianna Martinez (BUA), Andrew Humphrey (Baylor University) and Trent Gainey (HPU).

Howard Payne University’s School of Music and Fine Arts will hold its 18th annual “American Music Spectacular” May 2 at 7:30 p.m. in Mims Auditorium. This year’s theme is “The Struggle for Freedom.” Featured composers for the free event include Claude Smith, Alfred Reed and Morton Gould. A reception will follow.

Alumnus Ben Raimer will be the keynote speaker for East Texas Baptist University’s spring commencement May 4. The senior vice president for the Office of Health Policy and Legislative Affairs of the University of Texas Medical Branch will speak at the 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. ceremonies.

Hardin-Simmons University inducted five people into its Hall of Leaders this month. The honor provides recognition for graduates, former students and employees and other university leaders who have distinguished records of achievement and are men and women of good character. This year’s recipients were C.V. Wood Jr., Disneyland’s first employee who selected and purchased the land for the theme park, and later oversaw the development of Six Flags Over Texas; James Parker, businessman, rancher and a deacon at First Baptist Church in Abilene; Shirley O’Dell, educator and church leader; Ann Coody, educator and legislator; and Dan Blocker, widely known as Hoss Cartwright on the Bonanza western television series.

Kenia Dimas has been named associate executive director for Baptist Child & Family Services. She will be responsible for overseeing the growth and success of community-based programs for the agency. She joined BCFS in 2008, and she has more than 11 years experience working with at-risk children and youth.

A gift from Archie and Linda Dunham will be used toward the completion of Houston Baptist University’s football field, which will be called Dunham Field, announced Steve Moniaci, HBU director of athletics. The field is scheduled to be completed by mid-June, and will be the Huskies practice facility until the stadium is completed in time for the 2014 football season.

San Marcos Baptist Academy was recognized for 100 years of continuous accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council. The Baptist General Convention of Texas-affiliated school is believed to be one of only three schools in Texas to accomplish this milestone. John Garrison is the academy’s president.

Drew Ivey, assistant professor of biology, has joined the faculty of Dallas Baptist University. He is a member of Southcliff Baptist Church in Fort Worth.


Carmel Baptist Church in Lindale, 160th, May 5. Call (903) 882-3852 for details of the day’s events. James Cheatham is pastor.


Harmony Baptist Church, Eastland; May 3-5; evangelist, Jimmy McLeod; visiting pianist, Roy Don Rodgers; pastor, Ray Rodgers.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Care to comment? Send an email to our interim opinion editor, Blake Atwood. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.