Around the State: New events center

San Marcos Baptist Academy has broken ground on the Lee Hage Jamail Special Event Center.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

San Marcos Baptist Academy is set to begin construction on the 31,000-square-foot Lee Hage Jamail Special Event Center. The center will consist of two wings—one for athletics and the other for fine arts. It will include a gym, locker rooms, coaches’ offices, band and choir rehearsal halls, performance space, individual practice rooms, a music library and a student lounge. The center is the result of the largest cash gift ever given to the academy, presented by Joe Jamail in memory of his wife, who graduated from the school in 1944.

The Sam B. Hall Jr. Lecture and Banquet will be held Feb. 18 at 7 p.m. at East Texas Baptist University. Ronald Wells, director of the Maryville Symposium on Faith and Learning at Maryville College, will speak on the peace processes in Northern Ireland during the late 20th century and the essential role of Christian communities in achieving peace. Tickets are $35 per person and can be reserved by calling (903) 923-2083.

Buckner Children and Family Services will present a free foster care and adoption information meeting at 7 p.m. Feb. 21 at the Buckner Dallas campus. A representative will give an overview of foster care and adoption options in Texas, including foster-to-adopt, Waiting Texas Children and domestic infant adoption programs. International adoption options, through Buckner’s affiliate Dillon International, also will be discussed. For information or a reservation, call (214) 319-3425.

Grammy-winning gospel singer Cynthia Clawson will headline Hardin-Simmons University’s Round Table Scholarship luncheon Feb. 26 in the Van Ellis Theater. The luncheon will begin at 11:30 a.m. It is a fundraiser for a scholarship awarded to a female student who reflects the principles of service and virtue. Individual tickets are $20, and the reservation deadline is Feb. 19. To purchase tickets or for more information, call (325) 670-1489.

The Mirabeau B. Lamar Medal was awarded to Baylor University regent emeritus and longtime university benefactor Drayton McLane Jr. of Temple.

Drayton McLane Jr.

The medal is presented to individuals, foundations and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to higher education in Texas. Members of the Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors, the Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, and the Texas Association of Community Colleges present the award each year. McLane was nominated for the award by the presidents of Baylor University and the University of Mary-Hardin Baylor. In addition to Baylor and UMHB, McLane also has been a benefactor of Austin College, Baylor College of Medicine, Dallas Baptist University and Temple College. He also is a board director for the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University, a member of the board of trustees for Baylor College of Medicine and a member of the University Cancer Foundation Board of Visitors with the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. He is chairman of the McLane Group and CEO of McLane Advanced Technologies in Temple. He is the former CEO/owner of the Houston Astros. He is a member of First Baptist Church in Temple, where he teaches Sunday school and is a deacon.

Dallas Baptist University conferred degrees on 484 graduates during winter commencement ceremonies. Two hundred sixty-four students received bachelor’s degrees, 220 earned master’s degrees and four garnered doctorates. Fred Luter, pastor of Franklin Avenue Baptist Church in New Orleans, La., and president of the Southern Baptist Convention, delivered the commencement address and was presented an honorary doctor of divinity degree.

Shelley Conroy, dean of Baylor University’s Louise Herrington School of Nursing, has been appointed to the board of trustees at Baylor University Medical Center.

Howard Payne University was the site for the 15th annual meeting of the Christian Association of Student Leaders Conference. More than 250 student leaders from nine Baptist universities attended. Mike Jorgensen, executive director of I Am Second, was the keynote speaker. He told the students the conference was not for them but for the benefit of the people God wants to bless through them.

Wayland Baptist University’s show choir, Spirit, held its final performance Jan. 27. Formed in 1974 as the Spirit of America Singers, the ensemble was disbanded due to changing curricular requirements. A new choral performance lab course will be introduced in the fall.


Crosspoint Baptist Fellowship in Abilene, 10th, Jan. 20. Jerry Hendrix is pastor.

Willis Moore, fifth, as pastor of First Baptist Church in Odem, Feb. 6.

Davey Smith, fifth, as pastor of Fellowship Baptist Church in Tyler, Feb. 7.

Southside City Church in Fort Worth, fifth, Feb. 10. Darrel Auvenshine is pastor.

Jose Sanchez, fifth, as pastor of Iglesia Bautista de Fe in Tyler, Feb. 14.

Charles Strength, fifth, as pastor of Byrd Lane Baptist Church in Tyler, Feb. 14.

Stanley Wooden, fifth, as pastor of Family Way Baptist Church in Tyler, Feb. 14.

Butch Smith, 15th, as pastor of Living Hope Baptist Church in College Station.

Bronwyn Stanley, 15th, as children’s minister at First Baptist Church in College Station.


David Cason, as pastor of Broadview Baptist Church in Abilene, where he has served more than 37 years. A reception will be held Feb. 16 from noon to 3 p.m.

Benny Mayo, as senior adult minister at Hillcrest Baptist Church in Cedar Hill, where he served five years. He served in ministry 53 years. He is available to play guitar and sing for senior adult events, and he can be contacted at


A reception will be held Feb. 24 at Berclair Mission in Berclair to celebrate the 33 years of ministry of Pastor Moises Gonzalez. The celebration will begin at 3 p.m.

Lloyd Pullam has been named pastor emeritus at St. Emmanuel Baptist Church in Denton.


Brian Gunter to the ministry at First Baptist Church in Canyon Lake, where he is youth/missions pastor.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Care to comment? Send an email to our interim opinion editor, Blake Atwood. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.