Texas Tidbits

Committee approves exhibitors. The Baptist General Convention of Texas Committee on Convention Business approved three additional non-BGCT groups as exhibitors for the BGCT annual meeting, including Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, after they agreed to support the BGCT, its mission and its leadership. This fall’s annual meeting in Fort Worth will be the first BGCT gathering that will include a Southwestern booth since 2003. In 2004, the committee determined the school did not affirm support of the BGCT.

In going through the slightly revamped process of applying to have a booth in the annual meeting exhibit hall, Southwestern Director of Admissions Adam Groza signed a statement agreeing the seminary supports “the Baptist General Convention of Texas, its mission and leadership.” Like all exhibitor applicants, LifeWay and Christians for Biblical Equality also went through the same process and agreed to the principles and qualifications presented to exhibit at the meeting. Both were approved for booths.

LifeWay has had a presence at the BGCT Annual Meeting, but will now have an increased visibility at the meeting. In addition to supporting the BGCT, approved non-BGCT-related exhibitors must “offer unique, positive church-related resources and services that would be appropriate for and of interest to Texas Baptist churches.”  They also must have a letter of recommendation from a BGCT-related entity predominantly identified with the ministry.

Deadline set for nominations. The nomination deadline for the 2008 Texas Baptist Missions Foundation Mission Service Awards is Aug. 1. The Pioneer Award for service in missions goes to a long-time leader in missions or someone who played a key role in beginning mission work that impacted Texas Baptist life. The Innovator Award for creativity in missions is bestowed upon a church or individual who provided a model for missions others can adopt. The Adventurer Award for leadership in missions honors an individual who advanced missions through direction of significant mission activities, outstanding financial support or leadership in ministry opportunities. The awards, selected by the foundation’s council, will be presented during the Texas Baptist Missions Foundation’s luncheon Nov. 10 at the Baptist General Convention of Texas Annual Meeting in Fort Worth. Nominations may be submitted to Bill Arnold at the Texas Baptist Missions Foundation, 333 North Washington, Dallas 75246.

Interns on the job. Kaitlin Chapman, a Texas Tech student and former National Acteens Panelist, and Carrie Joynton, a recent Trinity University graduate and National Merit Scholarship finalist, are serving as Texas Baptist communications interns 10 weeks this summer in a cooperative venture involving the Baptist Standard and the Baptist General Convention of Texas communications office.

Veteran dorm mother leaves estate to Hardin-Simmons. Aileen Culpepper, who served 59 years as a dormitory director at Hardin-Simmons University, left her entire estate—estimated at about $400,000—to the university. The fund will create an endowment for the maintenance and renovation of Behrens Hall, one of the student housing facilities where she served. “Miss Cul,” as students referred to her, was a member of Pioneer Drive Baptist Church in Abilene.

Care to comment? Send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

Connect with the Baptist Standard

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Google+

About These Ads
About These Ads

More News

Design & Development by Toolbox Studios