Scott named president of San Marcos Academy

Trustees named Jimmie W. Scott president of San Marcos Academy. (Photo by Don Anders)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

SAN MARCOS—The San Marcos Academy board of trustees named Jimmie W. Scott president of the 107-year-old Baptist school after serving five months as the academy’s interim president.

Scott has “an enormous heart for San Marcos Academy, for the students, and for all of the academy family,” Board Chair Clay Sullivan said.

jimmie scott130Jimmie W. Scott“Jimmie and his wife, Janet, are very excited. Their leadership, as they pray and follow our Father’s guidance, will be inspirational to all around them,” Sullivan said. “I believe that Jimmie’s leadership is perfect for this phase of the life of San Marcos Academy.”

Scott arrived at the academy in 1964, serving as associate dean. A year later, he was promoted to academic dean and later served as academic vice president and executive vice president, retiring in 1996. 

Upon his retirement, the academy awarded Scott its Exemplary Service Medal for “distinguished service to God and man through Christian education.” He continued working part-time, recruiting and consulting for the academy. He also served on the board of trustees nine years, including one term as chair.

Soon after his appointment as president, Scott announced several organizational changes at the academy. 

Jeff Baergen, formerly vice president for academy affairs, was named executive vice president. Baergen has worked at the academy 18 years, having served as admissions director, student activities director, assistant principal and dormitory director.

sma newpositions425Among those assuming new duties at San Marcos Academy recently are (left to right) Rhonda McNeil, director of business affairs; Jeff Baergen, executive vice president; Derrick Ouellette, boys’ dormitory director; Judy Behrens, girls’ dormitory director; and Corey Boyer, dean of residential life. (SMA Photo by Don Anders)Corey Boyer, formerly dean of boys, was named dean of residential life. He will supervise the directors of both the boys’ and girls’ residence halls. Boyer has worked at the academy 11 years. 

Judy Behrens will become the girls’ dormitory director, and Derrick Ouellette will be the boys’ dormitory director. In her five years at the academy, Behrens was an assistant hall director and the administrative assistant in the school office, as well as a part-time faculty member. Ouellette was promoted from his previous position as dormitory hall director.

Rhonda McNeil recently joined the academy staff as director of business affairs. She will assume many of the duties of Monty Lewis, who is retiring at the end of July as vice president for business affairs after a 33-year tenure at the academy.

Peter Garza, who had been assistant principal for the academy’s upper school, has become assistant admissions director. Garza also will continue to coach the baseball team. 

Les Davis will leave his part-time assignment as middle-school coordinator to be full-time athletic director, and Toby Wade will assume responsibilities as assistant athletic director. Hannah Flowers was named head volleyball coach and will teach middle school science.

Librarian Amy Nighbert’s role has been expanded as director of distance education and learning resources. 

Matt McNeil becomes director of information and technology, handing over his previous duties as technology support specialist to David Hethcock. Bear Bryant becomes webmaster and audio-visual director. 

We seek to inform, inspire and challenge you to live like Jesus. Click to learn more about Following Jesus.

If we achieved our goal—or didn’t—we’d love to hear from you. Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email