Texas Baptists elect officers

Newly elected Baptist General Convention of Texas officers are (left to right) First Vice President Joseph Fields, President Danny Reeves and Second Vice President Jim Heiligman. (Photo / Robert Rogers/ Baylor University Marketing Communications)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

WACO—Messengers to the Baptist General Convention of Texas annual meeting elected Danny Reeves, pastor of First Baptist Church in Corsicana, as president.

“Danny will be a president we can believe in,” Jason Burden, pastor of First Baptist Church in Nederland, said in nominating Reeves. “He will be a president we can follow, whose example will be of such a high standard that we will strive to be a better convention and better people.”

Reeves, who completed a term as BGCT second vice president, has been senior pastor at First Baptist in Corsicana since 2011. Previously, he was pastor of First Baptist Church in Edna and First Baptist Church in McGregor. He also served on staff of churches in Mart, Big Lake and Blanket.

Reeves is the first graduate of Baylor University’s Truett Theological Seminary to serve as Texas Baptists’ president and also is a graduate of Howard Payne University.

Joseph Fields, pastor of New Beginnings Baptist Church in Lewisville, was elected as first vice president. Nominated by Craig Christina, pastor of Shiloh Terrace Baptist Church in Dallas, Fields founded New Beginnings in 2009 with six people. The congregation has grown to an average attendance of 400.

Fields previously served as a youth minister at Westside Baptist Church in Lewisville, and he was the founding director of Camp Exalted, a BGCT-sponsored camp for African-American youth.

Jim Heiligman, pastor of First Baptist Church in Bryan, was elected second vice president. He was nominated by Todd Still, messenger from First Baptist Church in Waco and dean of Truett Seminary.

Heiligman has served at First Baptist in Bryan since June 2014. Previously, he served nearly six years as pastor of First Baptist Church in Castroville. He also was youth pastor at First Baptist Church in Moody, Central Baptist Church in Jacksonville and First Baptist Church in Charlotte.

Messengers also elected Bernie Spooner from Plymouth Park Baptist Church in Irving as secretary of the corporation and Doug Powell from First Baptist Church in Garland as registration secretary.

Sign up for our weekly email newsletter.

We seek to inform, inspire and challenge you to live like Jesus. Click to learn more about Following Jesus.

If we achieved our goal—or didn’t—we’d love to hear from you. Send an email to Eric Black, our editor. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.

More from Baptist Standard

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email