Around the State: HPU Summer Scholars

Howard Payne University will host young students on campus during its Summer Scholars and Young Scholars program, July 15-19. (HPU Photo)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Howard Payne University will hold its annual Summer Scholars and Young Scholars programs hpu summer robotics200A student learns robotics during HPU’s Summer Scholars program.July 15-19 from 9 a.m. until noon on HPU’s Academy of Freedom campus. The theme of this year’s program for students in first through sixth grades is “Brainpower and the Body.” Fourth through sixth grade students will study biology, physical education, robotics, computer graphics and reading. First through third grade students study biology, physical education, music and reading. Cost is $100 per student and includes a souvenir, snacks and supplies. Deadline for registration is July 10. For more information, call (325) 649-8508.

Hardin-Simmons University’s Logsdon Seminary will open its Dallas-Fort Worth campus in August. Courses toward seminary degrees will be offered at Valley Ranch Baptist Church in Coppell, where students can earn up to two-thirds of the master of divinity and the master of arts in family ministry degrees. For more information, click here

Hardin-Simmons University named John Neese, HSU’s athletic director, the school’s staff member of the year. Janelle O’Connell, professor of physical therapy and head of the department of physical therapy, was named faculty member of the year. Staff and faculty also were honored for their longevity of service. Richard Garner, professor of chemistry, was recognized for his 45 years of service. Honored for 35 years of service were Gary Stanlake, professor of biology, and Larry Wolz, professor of music history. Police Chief Frank Loza and Charlene Strickland, associate professor of communication, had their respective 30 years of service noted. Other service awards included: 25 years—Larry Fink, Jean Self, Bobbie Van Huss and Larry Wheeler; 20 years—Randall Maurer, Susan Pigott, Laura Pogue and Pam Williford; 15 years—Richard Benham, Lynnette Chambers, Lanny Hall, Carol Ford Hill, John Hill, Jeannie Huffman, Russell Jones, Christopher Kelly, Leianne McMillan, Michael Monhollon, Coleman Patterson, Wayne Roy, Robert Sellers, Dan Stiver, Kathy Williams and Jodi Zachry; and 10 years—Thomas Brisco, Teresa Ellis, Dan Heger, Loretta Landrum, Russell Leavenworth, Anita Lyle, Kenneth Lyle, Kim O’Dell, Joanne Roberts, Sandy Self and Richard Taylor.


Tamara Armstrong, fifth, as minister of children at First Baptist Church in Beeville, June 1.

Glenn Robertson, 20th, as pastor of First Baptist Church in Cuero, June 2.

Jay Fleming, fifth, as pastor of First Baptist Church in Goliad, June 4.

Andrew Barlow, fifth, as minister of youth at Coastal Oaks Baptist Church in Rockport, June 15.


Dan Petty, as business administrator at Trinity Baptist Church in Kerrville, where he has served eight years. His 40 years of ministry also includes his being administrator at Mobberly Baptist Church in Longview and minister of music at Meadowbrook Church in Richland Hills and Central Baptist Church in Jacksonville. The church will hold reception in his honor June 30 at 4:30 p.m.


Templo Bautista in South Houston celebrated 38 years of service to the community May 5. David Deulefeu is pastor.


Robert Gonzales as a deacon at Iglesia Bautista La Hermosa in Skidmore.

George Carrera, Reid Davis, Vern Johnson, Drake Knapp, Michael Martens, Matt Murrah, Larry Parker, Ed Priest, Juan Rodriguez, James Scully, Bill Self, Justin Stanford, Richard Talley and John Tumas as deacons at First Baptist Church in Duncanville.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email

Care to comment? Send an email to our interim opinion editor, Blake Atwood. Maximum length for publication is 250 words.